• TIPRC

WEBINAR: Walking Towards Justice in Indian Country (Part 2)

Walking Towards Justice in Indian Country (Part 2): Missing and Murdered Indigenous

Women and Girls

August 12th, 2020 at 2pm – 3:30pm EST, 11am – 12:30pm PST, 12pm – 1:30pm MDT


In the US, Native American women are more than twice as likely to experience violence than any other demographic. One in three Native women is sexually assaulted during her life, 67% of these attacks are perpetrated by non-Natives, and many of the abductions take place when the victim is walking along a highway.

Webinar participants will learn how the dark history of colonization, complex jurisdictional issues, and racialized indifference have created the circumstances in which these crimes are regularly perpetrated and rarely prosecuted. Panelists will include civil rights advocates, practitioners, and researchers, as well as U.S. Congresswoman Deb Haaland (NM-1), who introduced federal legislation last year to address this “silent crisis,” and author Jessica McDiarmid, who documented numerous personal stories in her book, “Highway of Tears.”


CLICK HERE to Register

24 views

MENU 

RESOURCES 

NEVER MISS AN UPDATE, JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

2020. Tribal Injury Prevention Resource Center. All Rights Reserved.